About Us

The Maths Hubs programme for the first time brings together all mathematics education professionals in a national network of hubs, each locally led by an outstanding school or college, and in partnership with neighbouring schools, colleges, universities, CPD providers, maths experts and employers. This is a new way of harnessing all maths teaching expertise within an area, to spread excellent practice even more widely, for the benefit of all pupils and students.

North West Three Maths Hub is lead by St Mary and St Thomas CE Primary School, part of the Three Saints Academy Trust and lead school for North West Learning Partnership.

As a Lead Maths Hub we will provide support to all schools in St Helens, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton and Wigan; across all areas of maths education, including: 

•recruitment of maths specialists into teaching.
•initial training of maths teachers and converting existing teachers into maths.
•co-ordinating and delivering a wide range of maths continuing professional development (CPD) and school-to-school support.
•ensuring maths leadership is developed, eg running a programme for aspiring heads of maths departments.
•helping maths enrichment programmes to reach a large number of pupils from primary school onwards.

We will support primary through to post 16 and have a chance to change/influence maths education across the country.


These are the key strategic partners that make up our Strategic Board: 


Paul Scarborough (Chair) - Upholland High School - West Lancs

Damian Haigh - University of Liverpool Maths School (ULMaS) - Liverpool

Deb Wrigley - Greenbank Primary School - Liverpool

Gaynor Bahan - Maths Hub Regional Advisor - NCETM

Ian Young - Rainford High School - St Helens

Jane Kennedy - St John Bosco - Liverpool

Jen Filson - Meols Cop High School - Sefton

Lindsay Porter - Secondary Maths Hub Lead  - North West Three Maths Hub

Claire Martin  - Primary Teaching for Mastery Lead  - North West Three Maths Hub

Lisa Bradshaw - Senior Lead Link  - North West Three Maths Hub

Mahnaz Siddiqui - John Moores University - Liverpool

Martin Bamber - AMSP - Liverpool

Martin McDonnell - Independent

Julie Peach  - Cluster HT Lead - Knowsley

Emlyn Wright - Wigan LA - Wigan

Pat Speed - Great Crosby Catholic Primary School - Sefton

Jacqui Patterson  - LA Primary Adviser School Improvement Team - Sefton

Louise Tipping  - Winstanley College - Wigan

Sarah McIlroy - Maths Hub Lead - North West Three Maths Hub

Jen Murphy  - Director, Rainbow TSH 

Sue Cronin - Liverpool Hope University - Liverpool

Mark Wood  - Schools and Education Manager at Siemens 

Tracey Baxter  - STEM Regional Lead

Vicky Corbett - Moss Pitts Primary School – HTA - Liverpool

Bernard Clarke  - Generate TSH - Wigan


The national dimension of the programme is made possible by the hubs collaborating as a national group, pooling experience, expertise and ideas as a network, and meeting once a term at the National Maths Hubs Forum. This is a new way of fast-tracking current, school-based practice and research to an environment where national policy objectives can be explored and new ideas formulated.

Get a flavour of what the programme has achieved in its first five full years in this video: